RSS Feed

“My Blanket Will Save Me!”: The Tale of the Princess and the Evil Bird

‘Twas a Saturday evening on a hot night in June,

Princess came home in the light of a full moon.

Not a soul was home, she was the only one there.

Upstairs she went to her princess lair.

Sweet dreams filled her mind as she anticipated her fate.

She’d join her family the next day at the lake.

The night wore on. The morning sun beamed on her face.

Up and at ‘em, Princess! Begin your day with grace.

Down the stairs she trudged, not yet quite awake.

A cup of coffee and then she’d be off to the lake!

Two spoonfuls of sugar and a splash of cream.

She heard rustling nearby. Could it be what it seemed?

“No, there’s no way. I locked all the doors.”

She carefully tiptoed across the hardwood floors.

She heard it again. There it was! Could it be?!

She slinked towards the next room, but she couldn’t quite see.

She reached out her hand and grabbed the closest thing nearby.

“Great! A camping chair,” She said with a sigh.

She took a few swings and thought: “This will have to do.”

She flipped on the lights and immediately thought “ewwww!”

There it was, in the corner, perched up high.

A black, ugly bird! Oh me, oh my!

What’s a princess to do? A damsel in distress.

“I need a knight in shining armor, and right now would be best!”

No knight, no prince, nobody in sight.

She grabbed the next best thing when faced with a fright.

“It’ll stove off nighttime monsters, so surely this’ll do.”

Over her head with a blanket like the little kids do.

Next she went searching for a baseball bat.

“I’ll jump around and scare it and then that’ll be that.”

She flickered the lights, but it just wouldn’t move.

“Great! Now, what can I do?”

“ It’s too close to the door to open it from inside. Aha- the old house key! What a lucky surprise!”

Onto the porch to open it from the outdoors. She pushed it and ran, but that bird did not soar.

“I’ll extend my arms and push it right out…

Oh no, my bat is too short.” She cried with a pout.

“I know! I can use a broom.”

Blanket over her head, stealth mode into the room.

She crouched on the couch with her blanket like a cape

And leaned past the lamp… gosh, to have this on tape!

The broom handle extended and was just about there.

Right then the bird turned and it started to stare.

Tears flowing down, not knowing what to do,

She clutched the blanket tightly and counted to two.

One little push from the end of the broom,

That crazy bird flew into the next room!

That’s it. She was trapped. What else could she do?

“The other back door!” This is it. She just knew.

Two more doors, two more chances. Time to end this game!

She pushed them, but it didn’t fly when she came.

Pacing back and forth through the backyard,

Man oh man, this was incredibly hard.

To be a Princess of sorts, she was not like the rest.

She didn’t care for woodland creatures like her unwanted guest.

Crying and pacing with her blanket still in tow,

“I know just the trick to get this bird to go!”

Her brother’s black lab wagged his tail and looked on.

“Come on, Drake! I’ll throw ya a bone!”

Not a bone in the usual, treat-like way.

“NO ANIMALS IN THE HOUSE!” that’s what she’d usually say.

In her moment of desperation, that rule was null and void.

“Come on! It’s ok! I won’t pop you! Good boy!”

Drake slowly but surely came into the house.

He thought he was being tricked, so he moved slow like a mouse.

“Please don’t spank me!” he said with his eyes.

“There it is boy, go get him!” the Princess cried.

Down he laid on the floor. “Rub my belly. Pat my head.”

Her fool-proof plan was surely dead.

Drake didn’t bark or jump the bird up.

He was a lazy, silly, lovable pup.

“I’m determined. This bird has got to go!”

What’s this?! But wait! I know! I know!

I’ll throw these items until that silly bird falls,

Then Drake can trap it between his two paws!

One throw! Two throws! Three throws! It’s down!

The bird was injured, but it wasn’t on the ground.

Away it flew hidden somewhere nearby.

“I’ll never get this thing out!” she continued to cry.

After a series of text messages between her mom and her dad,

She received a phone call. They knew it was bad.

Somewhere amidst the screaming in fear,

The bird flew away, so she let out a cheer.

Away to the lake for a fun afternoon.

No bird, no blanket cape, no fear, and no gloom.

After a day on the water and some fun in the sun,

Princess went to bed, knowing she had won.

One hour, two hours, three hours, four.

She drifted off to sleep as her imagination soared.

Around 6:45, she awoke with a scream.

That bird was attacking her in the midst of her dream!

“Katelyn! Katelyn, it’s just Will. Wake up. Stop your crying. The bird’s in my room, and I’m really not lying!”

“Get in the bed with me, and hurry! Close the door! I’m not letting that bird terrorize me any more!”

My brother and I awoke the next day.

Mama came to our rescue, caught the bird, and let it fly away.

I will never look at a bird the same way again.

They’ll always seem to have an evil grin.

Smirking and chirping with a taunting demeanor,

“Mess with us again, and we’ll peck out your eyes for dinner!”

So is the reason why animals, Princess does not love.

Especially those that slither on the ground or fly up above.

They can smell your fear. They’ll take advantage of you!

Moral of the story: Grab your blanket. Cover your head. It’s the best you can do!

Princess and her not so fearless guard dog! It's ok, Drake. I still love you, even though I don't always show it!

Princess and her not-so fearless guard dog! It’s ok, Drake. I still love you, even though I don’t always show it!

Add a Twist to the Story- Leave a Comment!